Author Topic: OpenStage phones using 802.1X certificates and DLS  (Read 16261 times)

Offline daynomate

• View Profile
OpenStage phones using 802.1X certificates and DLS
« on: November 20, 2013, 12:03:38 am »
Hi, I'm a network engineer rather than involved with the voice system but I'm tasked with getting 802.1X authentication working with our IP Phones.

I've read several documents about standard deployments but they all seem to point to having a single user certificate for a phone profile template. This would mean to me that all phones in that profile share a common user certificate. This is not ideal in 802.1X as we really should have individual certificates for each handset that can be revoked or replaced.

Has anyone had experience using 802.1X with these handsets or any handsets that are managed by DLS?

We are using Cisco switches and Microsoft NPS as the CA and windows Radius server.

Offline Kimera

• Global Moderator
  • Kimera (Ars Gratia Artis)
    • View Profile
    • SIEMENS Enterprise Wiki
Re: OpenStage phones using 802.1X certificates and DLS
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2013, 09:14:42 am »
Interesting request.

I think you will be able to generate single Client Certificates (so just each one Client Certificate could be used with each one IP Phone) and not just only one for all of your IP Devices.

HiPath DLS (now OpenScape DLS), which acts as a central configuration and deployment point of security parameters (I mean VoIP Security Management and/or 802.1x Certificates Management), should then let you manage the 802.1x authentication process through the definition and usage of Templates/Locations profiles by using IP Devices or SIP Users specific information/parameters so you can manage what you want per-Device basis (An example: I think a parameter for a custom Location could be an IP range and then some IP Devices could be associated with that custom Location...but other parameters are available, like E.164 Patterns).